Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to have a doctor on my team?

No. Austria is not America. The infrastructure here is so good that an ambulance can arrive just about anywhere within 15 minutes. In every community, there is also an on-call doctor, a Red Cross facility, and/or a hospital. Nevertheless, especially for the solo division, having someone on your team with a medical background is always a good idea.

Can you decide for yourself if you want to be in Start Group A or Start Group B in the Solo category?

No. Since Start Group A is reserved for cyclists who want to finish the Race in under the first three´s, the majority of cyclists are (automatically) placed in Start Group B. Keep in mind that cyclists in Start Group A have less time to finish the Race than cyclists in Start Group B.

How many cars do I need for the Race?

You must have at least one Pace Car (THAT CANNOT BE AN RV!) that always accompanies the cyclist. How other team/crew members are transported and where everyone sleeps is something that each individual team/crew has to figure out for themselves. At RAAM, each team/crew also has an RV. Having an RV in Austria can also be an advantage, but not necessarily. For instance, another option is to rent a room at a hotel or motel for a few hours or sleep in the back of the Pace Car or other support vehicle. A van, for instance, can be very comfortable to sleep in, depending on the set-up. Don't forget that the crew needs sleep, too. Consider sending one of your support vehicles ahead for 200 km so that part of your crew can get some sleep before continuing on, which can really help keep them fresh. Play around with some strategies on paper to think about what might work best for you. Please be aware that the Pace Car can only be changed in an emergency, such as a breakdown, since, unlike the other support vehicles, it is outfitted with the GPS tracker, the orange roof lights, and the warning stickers.

 

What about the measurements of the Pace Car? Is it possible to use a car which is only few cm bigger than the maximum allowance?

No, these measurements are maximum-measurements, if only one measurement is over the maximum, the car is not allowed to use. Reason is the possibility of overtaking for other cars which are not involved in the Race.

Can I change crew members during the Race?

Yes. The important thing is, all crew members who take part in the Race must have signed the Participant Release of Liability Form and that form must be turned in to the Race Office before the start of the Race. You can take care of filling out the form online. Simply go to "Downloads," print out the form, have everyone sign it, and bring it to the Race Office. During the race, you are free to add, drop, or change crew members as you wish or as need be.

Are mixed teams allowed?

Yes! There is no separate division for mixed teams, however, since history shows that very few mixed or all-female teams sign up for the Race and having a division with just two or three finishers is not very practical. Furthermore, since it's not just the cyclists who play a huge role in the successful completion of the Race Around Austria, but also the crew, it's becoming more and more difficult to draw the line between the advantages or disadvantages of having men or women on one's team.

Why are there no age divisions in the Race Around Austria?

With the Race Around Austria, finishing the Race is more important than what place one finishes in. Also, there is no direct correlation between age (and gender) and one's finishing time. For example, in 2012, Johann Eisenbraun, who was more than 50 years old at the time, finished third in the overall standings, which is certainly a far more impressive result than had his accomplishment been listed in a separate age category. Furthermore, as far as the teams are concerned, mixed teams have had a great deal of success in the Race, often making the podium, sometimes even as the winner of the team division. That just goes to show that it's not only the cyclist, but also one's crew and strategy, that determine how well a cyclist finishes. We want the focus of the Race to be on the individual cyclists' personal accomplishments, such as their overall Race time or average speed, rather than on what place they finish in an age-division that might have very few entrants.

Why is the Race Around Austria 1500 only for solo riders?

The Race Around Austria 1500 is designed for solo cyclists who want to practice for the full Race or participate in a relatively short extreme bike race with relatively long breaks.

It makes little sense for teams to participate in the Race Around Austria 1500, because teams only need about one extra day to finish the full Race and all of the planning, effort, and logistics involved in competing in the shorter Race is roughly the same as that which is involved in competing in the full Race.

What kind of navigation system does the Race Around Austria use?

The Race uses an official Route Book which includes descriptions and maps of the course.

Although you can upload the route to a navigation device in order to follow the course, we have found that most Race participants navigate using analog rather than digital methods. Furthermore, Race Management cannot guarantee the accuracy of your navigation device. The official Route Book is full of navigation details that your personal navigation device is likely to miss, so the use of such a device increases the likelihood of navigation errors, which in turn can lead to a penalty.

What kind of prizes does the Race Around Austria offer?

We consider the Race to be an event for non-professionals that is also open to professionals, not the other way around. Therefore, we strive to make this a Race that is both affordable and attractive to the general population, which explains why we have decided to keep the Race registration fee relatively low. We could charge a higher registration fee in order to give out prize money to the Race winners, but we feel that would be detrimental to the Race. That is also why we do not pay professionals to participate in the Race. When Race finishers lift up their trophies, they think about their extraordinary accomplishment rather than money. Nevertheless, all Race winners receive fantastic non-monetary prizes.

RV: Yes or No?

That's up to you. The disadvantages of using an RV are surely the rental fee and the money you will spend on gasoline. Furthermore, an RV is not easy to drive, especially on the smaller roads that make up the majority of the Race route, which means completing the drive around Austria in an RV is no easy task. We believe that a van or minibus (such as a Ford Transit, VW Transporter or Mercedes Vito) can serve perfectly well as a second vehicle, as long as you outfit it comfortably. After all, we are not in America, where the lack of infrastructure means an unusually heavy reliance on RVs.

Besides at the start and twice in Styria (Steiermark), RVs are allowed along the entire route. Nevertheless, we urge you to avoid driving RVs over mountain passes.

At the start and finish we have RV parking slots with possibility of shower (www.freizi.at). You can get a parking ticket in the Race Office.

What does the Technical Inspection involve?

All bicycles and support vehicles must go through the Technical Inspection before the Race to ensure that they meet all of the rules of the Race. The Pace Car will be looked at especially closely, but the inspection also covers such things as bicycle helmets, bicycle lights, vehicle lighting, and Race stickers. We suggest you visit our homepage to download the Technical Inspection Form in order to prepare for the inspection.

How is the GPS-Tracker to install?

The GPS-Tracking device need 12V power supply on the cigarette lighter (charging by Micro-USB). Solo Riders do have the Tracker at daylight on the bike, at night in the Pace Car for charging. Teams had to have the tracker always in the Pace Car.

Does everyone have to attend the Pre-Race Meeting?

No. However, most Race participants should attend the Pre-Race Meeting if at all possible, and they should pass on the information to any of their teammates who are absent. We especially urge all those with no experience with such races to attend the Meeting, since you cannot plead ignorance anyway to avoid receiving a penalty.

How is the starting order determined?

Participants in the Race Around Austria are set off in 2-minute intervals, whereas participants in the Race Around Austria CHALLENGE are set off in 1-minute intervals.  The start accord to time of registration (first to register = last to start).

Exception: "Wild Cards" start last in each division.

Can non-Race participants ride alongside me on a bicycle?

No. There are a few exceptions, however, which are noted in the "Route Book -- Additional Information" section, such as the climb to the Großglockner.

According to the Rule Book, the Pace Car is required to follow closely behind the cyclist. What about when going down mountains at night? Shouldn't the Pace Car be allowed to stay a bit farther back, since the cyclist is going faster?

Yes, since safety is our top priority. At night, the Pace Car is still required to stay close behind the cyclist, especially in order to light up the road. However, when going downhill, particularly at night, you must find a happy middle ground between keeping a safe distance and being able to provide enough light. Be sure to adjust your speed accordingly so that both you and the cyclist make it down safely.

Can bicycles use extra-bright lights to light up the road? And can the red lights at the rear blink steadily?

Yes and yes. Whatever kind of lights you use in front, be sure to align them in such a way as to not blind oncoming traffic. According to Austria's traffic regulations, blinking red lights are allowed.

Is it okay to use a headlamp instead of having lights at the front of the bicycle?

No. Although you are allowed to use one, a headlamp is not considered a replacement for proper bicycle lighting. According to Austria's traffic regulations, all bicycles must have lights mounted onto the frame.

What happens if a member of your team can't start the Race for whatever reason, such as an injury?

No problem. The important thing is that your team is complete, not who is on your team. You are allowed to change cyclists up to 30 minutes before the start of the Race and you are not required to justify any changes you make. Please note that 4-person teams are allowed to start with three cyclists. We would like to remind you that, according to the Terms and Conditions of Participation, the decision to purchase cancellation insurance is your responsibility, not ours. Race Management will not refund your registration fee nor allow you to use it toward a future race.

How many team members must reach the finish line in order for a team to officially finish the Race?

In the worst-case scenario, only one. A team is not required to complete the Race with all of its cyclists making it to the finish line. A team will only be disqualified if there is no one left on the team who can cycle to the finish line or if there is a breakdown in the team's support system (especially with regard to nighttime cycling and the Pace Car).

What are the rules with regard to Pace Car lighting and are there any special rules for the driver of the Pace Car?

The Pace Car must be equipped with two amber rotating beacons that have tape covering the side facing the front of the vehicle.

There is nothing in the Rule Book dealing with additional lighting aimed toward the front of the vehicle.

ATTENTION: Additional headlights are often illegal. Therefore, if you have modified the lighting on your Pace Car and are pulled over by the police, you must be prepared to pay a fine and/or deal with any time lost if you are not allowed to continue on your way immediately. We would also like to point out that if you are involved in an accident, the indemnity insurance of the party who caused the accident may not cover a thing.

The trick as a driver is to try to make your way around Austria as unobtrusively as possible, which includes not causing traffic jams. For instance, if you find yourself on a crowded road during the day, be sure to switch to giving “leapfrog” support. In other words, give your cyclist support from the side of the road, so that you don’t interfere with the flow of traffic.

Are we required to pay the tolls for the mountain passes, and, if so, how much do they cost per car?

Tolls will be collected for cars only. There are no tolls for cyclists. You have to pay a toll if you go over the following three mountain passes during the day: The Großglockner Hochalpenstraße, the Gerlos Alpenstraße, and the Silvretta Hochalpenstraße. For toll prices and collection hours, please refer to the home pages of the Großglockner Hochalpenstraße AG and the Silvretta Hochalpenstraße.

Some mountain passes are closed overnight. Does that mean you can get stuck waiting for hours and hours until a pass re-opens?

No. All of the passes that are part of the Race are open even at night, since there are people who reside along those roads. Therefore, if you reach a mountain pass at night, simply look for the lane with the raised barrier and continue on your way.

The Race is a qualifying race for the Race Across America. Is there anything special I need to know in that regard?

The Race Around Austria is a qualifying race for the solo division of the Race Across America. Anyone in the solo division of the Race who crosses the Finish Line within the time limit (5 days and 12 hours for men; before the Finish Line closes for women) automatically qualifies. The only requirement therefore is to officially complete the Race. There is no need to fill out any paperwork or deal with any other formalities.

 

 

 

Newsletter sign up

Frequently Asked Questions

Brauche ich für das RACE AROUND AUSTRIA einen Arzt im Team?

Nein. Österreich ist nicht Amerika, die Infrastruktur ist so gut, dass in 15 Minuten überall eine Rettung vor Ort sein kann. Zudem gibt es in jedem Ort einen diensthabenden Gemeindearzt, eine Rot-Kreuz Stelle oder ein Krankenhaus, das aufgesucht werden kann. Gerade im Einzelbewerb schadet ein Betreuer mit medizinischem Background jedoch keinesfalls.

Kann man sich den Start im A- oder B-Block selbst aussuchen?

Nein. Der A-Startblock ist nur für alljene Athleten reserviert, die das Rennen unter den ersten Drei finishen wollen. Sie haben eine kürzere Karenzzeit. Der Großteil der Athleten startet jedoch (automatisch) im Block B. Für sie gilt die volle Karenzzeit.

Wieviele Autos brauche ich für dieses Rennen?

Für das Rennen selbst wird ein Pace Car (Abmessungen beachten - KEIN WOHNMOBIL!) vorgeschrieben, der permanent beim Fahrer ist. Wie der Transport der restlichen Fahrer in einem Team passiert, wo die Schlafpausen abgehalten werden - das ist eine Sache, die jedes Team individuell gestalten kann. Beim RAAM sind die Mannschaften mit einem zusätzlichen Wohnmobil unterwegs - kann auch in Österreich von Vorteil sein, muss aber nicht. Ist ja durchaus möglich dass man sich in einer Pension kurz einmietet oder seine Schlafpause hinten im Pace Car oder Zweitauto verbringt. In einem Van kann man sehr gut schlafen, wenn man sich ordentlich einrichtet. Beachte allerdings, dass auch die Crew Schlaf benötigt. Wenn man 200 Kilometer mit einem zusätzlichen Auto vorfahren kann, dort schläft und dann ausgeruht weiterfahren kann, hat das durchaus seine Vorteile. Spielt eure Taktik am Besten einfach mal am Papier durch. Übrigens - das Pace Car darf nur in Notfällen (also zB bei Defekt) gewechselt werden, da es ja im Gegensatz zu den anderen Fahrzeugen dementsprechend mit GPS-Tracker, orangen Drehleuchten bzw. orangen Blitzlichtern und Warnaufklebern auf der Rückseite usw. ausgestattet wird). 

Für Pace-Cars gibt es Maximalabmessungen. Ist es möglich mit einem Pace-Car zu starten, das nur wenige Zentimeter über diesen Maßen ist?

Nein. Pace-Cars sind mit Länge, Höhe und Breite begrenzt. Es handelt sich dabei um bereits sehr großzügige, absolute Maximalabmessungen, und auch wenn nur eine Abmessung knapp über dem jeweiligen Maximalmaß ist, erfüllt das Pace-Car die Norm nicht. Hier kann auch keine Ausnahme gemacht werden. Grund dafür ist, dass große Fahrzeuge beim Überholen ein zu großes Hindernis für den sonstigen Straßenverkehr darstellen.

Darf ich während des Rennens meine Betreuer-Crew wechseln?

Ja. Wichtig ist nur, dass alle Crewmitglieder, die im Laufe des Rennens im Einsatz sind, der Rennleitung gemeldet werden und die Haftungsfreistellungserklärung im Rennbüro unterschrieben abgegeben wurde. Das könnt ihr bequem zu Hause erledigen. Unter "Download" könnt ihr sie ausdrucken, unterschreiben lassen und zum Start mitbringen. Der zusätzliche Betreuer kann dann während des Rennens zu- oder aussteigen. Sollte ein Betreuer unerwartet ausfallen, kann natürlich ebenfalls nachbesetzt werden. 

Sind Mixed-Teams zugelassen?

Ja! Es gibt zwar keine eigene Wertung, da erfahrungsgemäß nur wenige Mixed- oder reine Damenteams am Start sind und eine Ergebnisliste mit nur zwei oder drei Finishern nicht zielführend wäre. Zudem spielen nicht nur radfahrerische Fähigkeiten beim Race Around Austria eine Rolle, auch die Betreuung ist ein so gravierender Faktor, dass die Leistungsunterschiede zwischen Männern und Frauen hier mehr und mehr verschwimmen.

Warum gibt es beim Race Around Austria keine Altersklassen?

Beim Race Around Austria steht nicht die Platzierung, sondern das Finishen im Vordergrund. Zudem ist das Alter oder das Geschlecht nicht zwangsläufig für eine langsamere Zeit verantwortlich. Beispiele dafür gibt es genug: So wurde zB Johann Eisenbraun als über 50-Jähriger im Jahr 2012 Gesamt-Dritter des Rennens. Ein Erfolg, der in einer Gesamtklasse viel höher einzustufen ist als in einer Klassenwertung. Und auch bei den Teams fuhren Mixed-Mannschaften bereits aufs Stockerl oder gewannen die Kategorie. Mit ein Grund dafür ist das Team und die Renntaktik, die auf die Leistung Einfluss nimmt. Wir wollen den Fokus auf die persönliche Leistung des jeweiligen Teilnehmers, sprich auf die erreichte Zeit bzw die Durchschnittsgeschwindigkeit und nicht auf eine Altersklassenplatzierung mit womöglich wenigen Konkurrenten legen.

Warum kann man das Race Around Austria 1500 nur solo bestreiten?

Das Race Around Austria 1500 ist für Solofahrer gedacht, die sich auf die lange Runde vorbereiten möchten oder an einem kürzeren  Extremradrennen mit längeren Pausen teilnehmen wollen.

Für Teams besteht für die Athleten leistungsmäßig zwischen dem Race Around Austria 1500 und der klassichen Strecke kaum ein Unterschied. Es ist zeitlich nur rund einen Tag länger. Zudem wäre der logistische Aufwand auf der kürzeren Strecke gleich groß.

Wie wird beim RACE AROUND AUSTRIA navigiert?

Es gibt ein Routebook, eine Beschreibung mit Kartenmaterial.
Man kann sich auch die Strecke auf ein Navigationsgerät laden und so der Strecke folgen. Die Erfahrung zeigte aber, dass fast alle Teilnehmer auf die Technik verzichteten und analog navigierten. Zudem übernehmen wir für Navigationsgeräte keine Garantie, dass das Navi auch die richtige Strecke findet. Das Reduzieren von Wegpunkten ist meist sehr fehleranfällig und schneidet die Strecke an einigen Punkten ab, was zu einem Penalty führen kann.

Was gibts beim RACE AROUND AUSTRIA zu gewinnen?

Wir verstehen uns als Breitensportveranstaltung mit Spitzensportbeteiligung, und nicht umgekehrt. Deshalb versuchen wir, das Rennen auch für die Masse leistbar und attraktiv zu gestalten. Dazu zählt unserer Meinung nach auch die Höhe des Startgeldes. Wir sind der Meinung, dass es nicht im Sinne des Rennens ist, höhere Startgelder zu verlangen, um dann Preisgeld an die Sieger auszahlen zu können. Ebenso kaufen wir uns keine Profiathleten ein. Unsere Trophäen heben den Finisher - Gedanken in den Vordergrund. Für die Sieger gibt es aber überaus attraktive Warenpreise zu gewinnen.

Wohnmobil: Ja oder Nein?

Eure Entscheidung. Nachteil eines Wohnmobils sind sicher die Kosten von Leihe und Benzin. Außerdem ist es schwerer zu fahren, und da wir ja meist nicht gerade auf Autobahnen unterwegs sind, ist die Fahrt rund um Österreich sicher nicht leicht. Unserer Meinung nach reicht ein großer Van bzw. ein Kleinbus (Ford Transit, VW Transporter, Mercedes Vito etc.) als zweites Auto vollkommen aus. Auch hier kann man es sich gemütlich einrichten. Wir sind nicht in Amerika, wo durch die fehlende Infrastruktur alles im Wohnmobil erledigt werden muss.

Wohnmobile können bis auf drei Ausnahmen (Beim Start, und zweimal in der Steiermark die gesamte Strecke befahren. Es empfiehlt sich aber, Pässe immer wieder zu umfahren.

Im Start- und Zielort können Wohnmobile auf einem eigenen Parkplatz abgestellt werden (www.freizi.at). Dort gibt es auch (kostenpflichtige) Duschmöglichkeiten. Parktickets sind im Rennbüro erhältlich.

Was wird bei der technischen Abnahme kontrolliert?

Der technischen Abnahme müssen alle Fahrzeuge (Räder und Begleitfahrzeuge) unterzogen werden. Sie werden auf ihre Renntauglichkeit untersucht. Am genauesten wird das Pace Car unter die Lupe genommen, aber auch Helm, Lichter am Rad, Funktionieren aller Lichter bei den Autos, Beklebung usw. wird kontrolliert. Das Abnahmeformular steht auf der Homepage zum Download, um sich darauf vorbereiten zu können. 

Wie wird der GPS-Tracker installiert?

Der GPS-Tracker wird über Micro-USB geladen und benötigt einen freien Zigarettenanzünder-Steckplatz. Solofahrer tragen den GPS-Tracker bei Tag am Rad, in der Nacht befindet er sich im Auto und wird geladen. Bei Teams befindet er sich permanent im Pace-Car.

Müssen alle Teilnehmer beim Pre-Race Meeting anwesend sein?

Nein. Es genügt, wenn ein Großteil der Mannschaft vor Ort ist und die Infos an den Rest weitergibt. Die Haftungsfreistellungen können schon zu Hause unterzeichnet und gesammelt im Rennbüro abgegeben werden. Gerade unerfahrenen Betreuern empfehlen wir aber die Teilnahme, Unwissenheit schützt vor Penaltys nicht. 

Wie wird die Startreihenfolge festgelegt?

Beim Race Around Austria wird im 2-Minutentakt gestartet, der Intervall bei der Race Around Austria CHALLENGE im Minutentakt. Gestartet wird nach Registrierungszeitpunkt  (Erste Registrierung=letzter Startplatz der jeweiligen Kategorie)

Ausnahme: „Wildcards“ starten am Ende jedes Startblocks.

Darf ich von rennfremden Personen mit dem Rad begleitet werden?

Nein.  Es gibt aber wenige Ausnahmen, die im Routebook-Zusatzinfo aufgelistet sind, wie zum Beispiel die Auffahrt auf den Großglockner.

Nachtfahrten: Im Reglement steht, dass das Pace Car knapp hinter dem Radfahrer fahren muss. Wie ist das bei Bergabfahrten? Muss da nicht wegen der Sicherheit mehr Abstand gehalten werden?

Ja, denn Sicherheit hat oberste Priorität. Das Pace Car sollte bei Nacht den Teilnehmern bei Bergabfahrten die Fahrt erleichtern, ihnen die Straße ausleuchten. Findet einen Mittelweg zwischen Abstand und Licht und Geschwindigkeit, damit ihr sicher nach unten kommt.

Sind stark leuchtende Fahrradlampen erlaubt? Und dürfen die  roten Lichter nach hinten auch blinken?

Ja. Bitte auf eine korrekte Einstellung achten, die entgegenkommenden Fahrzeuge dürfen nicht geblendet werden. Blinkende Rücklichter sind laut StVO erlaubt. 

Kann auf die vordere Beleuchtung am Rad verzichtet werden und stattdessen eine Stirnlampe verwendet werden?

Nein, eine Stirnlampe ist straßenverkehrsrechtlich als Beleuchtung nicht zugelassen, sie darf nur zusätzlich verwendet werden. Die Lichter sind alle am Rad zu montieren.

Was ist wenn ein Teammitglied beim Start verhindert ist, sich verletzt oder aus sonstigem Grund nicht starten kann?

Kein Problem. Wichtig ist, dass das Team steht, ob nun ein Fahrer vor dem Start ausgewechselt wird, oder nicht, ist egal. Ein Fahrerwechsel ist bis eine halbe Stunde vor dem Start möglich und muss nicht begründet werden. In der Team-Viererkategorie kann aber auch zu dritt gestartet werden. Wir weisen in diesem Zusammenhang auch auf die Teilnahmebedingungen hin: Eine Stornoversicherung ist Sache des jeweiligen Teams, denn das Startgeld kann nicht rückerstattet bzw auf ein Folgejahr angerechnet werden.

Wie viele Radfahrer müssen im Teambewerb eigentlich das Ziel erreichen, um gewertet zu werden?

Im Extremfall jeweils nur einer. Einzelne Ausfälle von Teamathleten spielen also für die Wertung keine Rolle, ein Team wird also nur aus der Wertung genommen, wenn kein Teilnehmer mehr übrig ist, der die restliche Strecke radelnd bewältigt oder die Betreuung nicht mehr funktioniert (v.a. Nachtfahrten, Pace Car - Betreuung).

Wie ist die Pace-Car - Beleuchtung geregelt und wie muss man sich als Fahrer des Pace-Cars verhalten?

Zwingend vorgeschrieben sind zwei orange Drehlichter oder orange LED-Blitzer, die nach vorne abgeklebt werde.

Hinsichtlich Zusatzscheinwerfer nach vorne gibt es vom Reglement her keine Regelung.

ACHTUNG: Zusatzscheinwerfer entsprechen oft nicht der Straßenverkehrsordnung. Im Falle einer Polizeikontrolle ist jeder Teilnehmer selbst für die Folgen (Strafen, Hinderung an der Weiterfahrt, Zeitverlust etc.) verantwortlich. Wir möchten in diesem Zusammenhang auch darauf hinweisen, dass bei einem Unfall die Haftpflichtversicherung beim Verursacher regressieren kann bzw. diese keine Deckung übernimmt.
Wichtig ist der Grundsatz, so unbemerkt wie möglich rund um Österreich zu kommen. Staubildung ist unbedingt zu vermeiden. Bei viel Verkehr am Tag herrscht sogenannter "Leapfrog-Support", zu Deutsch: Betreuen vom Straßenrand aus, um die Leichtigkeit und Flüssigkeit des Verkehrs nicht zu beeinträchtigen.

Maut (für Pässe etc.): Sind die Mautgebühren standardmäßig zu entrichten und wie hoch sind diese ca. pro Auto?

Maut wird nur für Autos verlangt. Radfahrer sind generell überall frei. Sie wird am Tag auf dem Großglockner, auf der Gerlos Alpenstraße und auf der Silvretta Hochalpenstraße eingehoben. Die Tarife und Tarifzeiten erfährt ihr auf den Homepages der Großglockner Hochalpenstraßen AG und der Silvretta Hochalpenstraße. 

Manche Pässe sind über Nacht gesperrt - kann es theoretisch passieren, dass man dann stundenlang warten muss?

Nein. Alle Pässe sind auch über Nacht offen, da auf denen die wir befahren auch Anrainer wohnen. In der Nacht einfach den freien Streifen mit dem offenen Schranken benutzen!

Das Rennen ist Qualifikationsrennen für das Race Across America - gibt es hier etwas zu beachten?

Das Race Around Austria ist für den Solobewerb des Race Across America Qualifikationsrennen. Als qualifiziert gelten jene, die den Solobewerb innerhalb der Karenzzeit (5 Tage, 12 Stunden bei den Herren/innerhalb des Zielschlusses bei den Frauen) die Ziellinie überqueren. Man muss das Rennen also offiziell finishen. Eine gesonderte Anmeldung oder sonstige Formalitäten sind nicht nötig.

Attergau-Salzkammergut
Suzuki Austria Automobile
Fever-Tree
Salzkammergut
Chilischarf Kommunikationsagentur e.U.
DUL-X
INNSHOLZ Natur und Vitalhotel**** Chaletdorf Böhmerwald
Sportland Oberösterreich

Newsletter abonnieren